My Best Friend and Other Enemies by Catherine Wilkins, Illustrated by Sarah Horne

Yay, Real Life has stopped kicking me! I have return-ed – and I’m fairly sure no one missed me but never mind! I’m happy to be back anyway!

And even though I haven’t been blogging, I have still been reading and take a peek at this one! Easily one of the funniest books I’ve read in a while and certainly one of the better books I’ve read in the last few weeks (it’s been a dry patch. So frustrating when that happens!). This one cheered me right up…

Publisher: Nosy Crow
ISBN: 9780857630957
Published: 6/9/2012

Loved this one, and so will you if you like Jacqueline Wilson or Cathy Cassidy. It follows Jess, who’s always been best friends forever with Nadine. That is, until Amelia turns up. Suddenly, she and Nadine are going on special trips to McDonalds, just them two, and Jess starts finding herself left out of things, not to mention how mean and snide Amelia is to her. Then, one day, Jess finds that Nadine and Amelia have started up a new gang, and she’s pointedly not invited. So Jess decides to start her own girl gang, to show once and for all that’s she’s just FINE without her best friend. And it just snowballs from there, each gang trying to be better than the other! However, is Jess really getting the big picture, or is there more to Nadine and Amelia than she thinks?

This is a proper giggle this book! Even when I was commiserating with Jess as yet another joke was played on her or she got left out deliberately again, I still laughed with her as she nervously doodled a picture of the school on fire for the school hardnut who’s-sort-of-her-friend, or as she bemoaned her mum’s new Economy Drive and dodgy turkey, or even when her mum starts tripping over herself trying to outdo the snooty Jones’ next door with their perfect lives. Really funny, especially with Jess’s speciality doodles ambling down most of the pages, and it does remind me a little bit of Louise Rennison now I come to think of it.
The whole book is basically about one-up-manship and how daft it is to get caught up in something. Like the whole incident with the two gangs – caught up in her battle with CAC (Nadine and Amelia’s gang, which is a joke in and of itself!), Jess forgets that the rest of her gang are more interested in just hanging out and the cool badges and stuff are just gravy, not the bragging point she thinks they are with Nadine and Amelia.
In short, I really liked this one and I would happily read it again. Catherine Wilkins is definitely someone to keep an eye out for!
What do you think?

