About BooKa Uhu

Hi, and welcome to my blog!

There’s nothing much to explain really – what you see is what you get after all. Basically, I love children’s books and I plan to read and review as many of them as I possibly can. I read for all ages, from baby to Young Adult, as well as blogging about whatever bookish news I find particularly interesting along the way. I also review children’s non-fiction – jack of all trades me! I usually do video reviews for baby books and written reviews for all other age groups (with the odd picture here and there if I’m feeling especially tech-y). I’m in the process of adding audio buttons to each dyslexic-friendly title I’ve reviewed as well, just in case my blog colours/text cause issues. I’m hoping to eventually have an audio option for every post.

My review policy is if I don’t like it, I won’t review it. If you insist, I will discuss in private conversation why I don’t like a book, but otherwise I won’t review it on this blog. I strongly believe if you haven’t got anything good to say, don’t say it. On the other hand though, if I find a book that’s not personally to my taste but I can see others liking or finding useful, I will of course review it. And if I find a book I personally love, I will get overly enthusiastic about it and use far too many exclamation marks. So far, I’ve (happily) found very few books I’ve had to strike off reviewing 🙂 I must profess a fondness and inclination for more sci-fi or action/adventure based stories, but if something grabs me I will read it. I’ve even been known to read romance on occasion…

Most of the books I review I’ve sourced myself. If you’d like me to review a particular book though, you can find me on Twitter or leave a comment on a post to get in contact. I do have a bit of a reading backlog, but I will try to review anything I get sent as quickly as possible. If I’m not in a position to review a book, I will of course say.

Each book is put into an age category. If you look along the right hand side, you’ll find a list of the tags I’ve given to various book reviews too. I’m hoping that eventually no matter what topic you’re covering at school or have a hankering for, you’ll be able to find a tag for it on here. They can also act as a flag system, so for any parents out there worrying about content, check out the tags to see if anything’s in there you’d rather weren’t 🙂

Occasionally I will link to another website. I take no credit for the content of these webpages nor do I take responsibility for anything untoward that may be on them elsewhere on the site or in the comments/messageboards. I try to avoid linking to any dubious sites of course but I cannot check every single website in it’s entirety. I will always try to make it as obvious as possible exactly where I’ve found a webpage, if not linking to them directly.

And that’s pretty much it – hope you find something of interest here!

3 comments

  • I have written an eBook called Delilah Dusticle and it would be wonderful if you would read and review it. Below is a description and link.

    Delilah Dusticle has special powers, she can completely eradicate dust. With her quiver pouch of special dusters Delilah can run up walls and reaches places others just can’t. As a maid in the Fenchurch-Whittington house Delilah’s unusual skills soon lead to her being promoted to Chief Dust Eradicator and Remover. Until one day a broken heart leads to her powers taking an expected turn.

    This is the first in a series of touching and funny stories about Delilah Dusticle. Follow her on a journey of self-discovery, friendship and adventure.

    Excerpt:

    A suit of armour standing beside her in the hall coughed and shot out a puff of dust from its helmet. “Staff are not permitted to fraternise with the family and any shenanigans would lead to instant dismissal,” wheezed the armour.

    “Don’t I know it,” said Delilah who then waved her duster at the falling dust cloud making it vanish in mid-air. For good measure she selected her dandelion duster and polished the armour, who was very ticklish and kept giggling. She then made her way to the staff kitchen for dinner.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Delilah-Dusticle-ebook/dp/B00BOXRDDE
    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17562096-delilah-dusticle

    f you are interested in reading my eBook I can send you a mobi file, PDF or epub. It is a short story, 33 pages, that has been enjoyed by kids and adults alike.
    I am from England, but currently live in Gothenburg Sweden. I have a had a great response from American based bloggers, but I would really like a review from the UK. If you would like to meet my writing mascot Grumpy Stone, please visit http://www.ajyork.com

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Best wishes

    Jen (A. J. York)
    @delilahdusticle
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/delilahdusticle

    • Hi,

      Thanks for visiting the blog. Unfortunately I’m right in the middle of a huge clear out of all the backlog of books I’ve been intending to read for the past few months. As a result, I don’t think I’m your best bet to review your book.

      It might be worth asking Big Book Little Book instead, as they are also a UK reviewer and they have self-published Sundays too.

      All the best!

What do you think?

