Jack’s Amazing Shadow by Tom Percival

C’mon, how could I pass up reviewing a book by one of my fave illustrators?

Jack's Amazing Shadow

Publisher: Pavilion Children’s Books
ISBN: 9781843652205
Published: 18/4/2013

Jack’s a very unusual boy – his shadow is his best friend! His magical shadow is the only friend he needs… that is until his shadow gets a little carried away and Jack gets the blame for all the naughty things it does. Jack doesn’t want to be friends anymore, but will he find himself missing his friend once his shadow’s gone?

As you’d expect with Percival, the book is of course gorgeous – just look at Jack’s expressions here!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m also rather in love with just how colourful the book is (and yes, I do have a soft spot for anyone with green hair. What can I say, I’m biased).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASee, colourful! (loving the pink puss cat).

There’s also a fair amount of silliness and humour too (I love Jack’s inspired use of balloons when he’s trying to get rid of his pesky friend).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhat I like best though is that it’s one of those stories that little ones can relate to themselves pretty easily. I mean, who doesn’t remember falling out with their best friend in primary school, determined not to be best friends Anymore Ever, only to feel really sorry about it later and having to be brave enough to make up? I know I remember it, and I know that kids of a certain age could probably take on Jack’s lesson about admitting when you’re wrong for themselves.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAll in all, a lovely story and some lovely illustrations. Thank you very much to Pavilion Books for sending me a copy.

Find it here

Psst! As an added bonus, the inside covers are covered in shadow hand puppets! I might have played about a bit…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Camel!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dog!

Also, details here on how to get a signed shadow illustration by Percival himself! Competition ends 10th May.

What do you think?

