Rhinos Don’t Eat Pancakes by Anna Kemp, ill. Sara Ogilvie

So, a brief (unplanned) hiatus and I’ve finally had a chance to review one of my favourites:

Publisher: Simon and Schuster Children’s Books ISBN: 9781847388780 Published: 28/4/2011

Daisy is often ignored by her parents, who are usually a million miles away reading the paper or doing the washing. So, she gives up trying to get their attention, especially when they ignore her when she mentions the little matter of a big purple rhino living in their home. Instead, she makes friends with it and it’s only when the pancakes are gone that her parents realise that the big purple rhino is real after all!

Like I said, I love this picturebook. It’s got all the hallmarks of a classic – that familiar story of the child telling the truth and the oblivious parents, some brilliantly personable illustrations and, oh yes, a giant purple rhino. I’ll say it again, giant purple rhino. There’s just something about the world purple that makes it a really fun word to say and when it’s combined with such a cumbersome animal as a flipping rhino, it just gets funnier (well, for me anyway!).

Back to the illustrations and I love all the little silly details on each page, such as the leg snapping on the sofa the rhino is parking himself on, or like the mum getting a noseful of bushy rhino tail as they try to shove his big purple bottom (snort) into the car.

Rhinos Don't Eat Pancakes by Anna Kemp and Sara Ogilvie

Or playing Hoopla with a Rhino on a seesaw…

I don’t know about you, but I want to make sure I take my hoola hoops next time I visit London Zoo, just in case…

A brilliant silly story that little ones will love – plus an excuse to use the word ‘purple’ more often.

Find Rhinos Don’t Eat Pancakes here.

 

What do you think?

